Congress MLAs expelled after violating party whip in RS poll…


Hours after historic victory for Congress President Sonia Gandhi’s strongman , the party on Wednesday expelled eight of its MLAs for violation of its whip. Congress will also expel six more MLAs in the coming days. “Eight Gujarat Congress MLAs have already been expelled from the party. Six more have been expelled from the party for violation of the whip in the Rajya Sabha polls,” said Gujarat Congress in-charge Ashok Gehlot. All expelled MLAs are close to senior leader Shankarsinh Vaghela, who quit the party before the and voted for the BJP in the Rajya Sabha elections on Tuesday. After the proverbial night of long knives on Tuesday, senior Congress leader defeated BJP candidate Balwantsinh Rajput to enter the Rajya Sabha for the fifth consecutive term.